In Praise of My Wife

heart

Proverbs 31:10 says, “An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels” (ESV).

Well, I found an excellent wife.  And she is, indeed, more precious than jewels.

My wife headed off today to a training several hours away from here, and she will not be back for about 4 days.  They say “absence makes the heart grow fonder,” and it is certainly true.

I am blessed indeed!  Here I am with both of my children, trying to do everything that Chrissy and I normally share in terms of chores.  I don’t think I usually realize just how much she does until she is not here to do it.

I realize she is only gone for a few days, and many people have to go away far longer.  I have the utmost respect, for example, for those in the military who deploy for long periods of time and in some cases very frequently.  To those in the military, thank you for your sacrifice!

Still, while she has only been away for several hours at this point, I miss her terribly.  I miss her smile.  I miss her laugh.  I miss her voice.  I miss talking with her and sharing life with her in general.  She truly is my other (and much better!) half.

I realized this morning I don’t thank her enough.  I don’t feel that I show my love nearly enough.  I definitely fall way short of the biblical mandate to love her as Christ loved the church!

Chrissy sacrifices so much for our family.  She sacrifices money, time, and energy nearly every day to help me and the children.  She is strong when I am weak.  She is a constant source of encouragement to me.  There is no doubt that she loves us with everything inside her.

Proverbs 31:28-29 goes on to say, “Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:’Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.'” (ESV).  How absolutely true of my wonderful bride!

Thank you, Chrissy, for all you do.  I love you more than words can say.

Leave a Reply

